General Marriage License Information:
The Marriage License Division of the Comanche County Court Clerk's Office is located on the second floor of the Comanche County Courthouse, 315 SW 5th
Street, Room 205, Lawton, OK. To apply, both parties must be present at the Court Clerk's Office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday and from 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on Fridays.
IMPORTANT CHANGE IN COURTHOUSE MARRIAGES:
If the applicants desire to get married by a Judge at the Comanche County Courthouse the days of the week and times have been changed. You can only be married by a Judge on Fridays between the hours of 2:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m.. Applicants shall also provide two (2) witnesses 18 years of age or older.
The information below will provide you with a summary of the marriage license requirements in Oklahoma. Title 43 of the Oklahoma statutes will provide you with more detailed information if required.
Proof of Age and Identity:
Acceptable forms of identification include state-issued driver's license, certificated copy of birth certificate with raised seal, current passport, etc. Generally speaking, acceptable forms of identification include those issued by the state or federal government of the United States. Persons age 18 and older are considered adults for the purpose of marriage.
When applying for a marriage license using a driver's license, ID or passport outside the United States, a birth certificate translated into English must also be presented. A translated birth certificate may be obtained from LANGUAGE INTERNATIONAL GROUP, LLC at 509 SW 25th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73109. Their telephone number is 405-632-7877.
Consent of a parent or guardian, as applicable. Please refer to statute for more detailed information.
Persons divorced in Oklahoma may not marry anyone in this state, other than their previous spouse for a period of six (6) months from the date of the decree of dissolution of marriage (formally referred to as a divorce decree).
There is no residency requirement, but the marriage must be performed in Oklahoma.
No waiting period required except for those 16-17 years of age, there is a 72 hour waiting period.
No blood test required.
Fees are $50.00 payable at the Office of the Court Clerk. However, the fee will be reduced to $5.00 if the applicants present to the Court Clerk an original certificate of successful completion of premarital counseling. The certificate shall state the named persons have successfully completed the premarital counseling requirements. NO COPIES, FAXES OR EMAILED COUNSELING CERTIFICATES. The premarital counseling program must be conducted in accordance with Oklahoma Statute 43 O.S. 5.1. In addition, if you are married by a Judge at the Comanche County Courthouse, there will be an additional fee of $10.00. Accepted forms of payment are cash, money order/cashier's check or credit/debit card.
Important date information:
Once obtained, the marriage license is only valid for 10 days beginning the day issued and must be returned to the Comanche County Court Clerk's Office within 30 days from the performance of marriage.
ALL LICENSE FEES ARE DUE AT THE TIME OF FILING
For additional information, please call 580.250.5093