A Marriage License
The Small Claims Office of the Court Clerk's Office handles the distribution and retention of marriage licenses within Comanche County. The Small Claims Office is located at 315 SW 5th Street, Room 205, Lawton, OK; their phone number is 580-250-5093. The below steps are a summary of the marriage license requirements in the State of Oklahoma. For more detailed information, you can reference Title 43 Marriage and Family. Follow the steps below to apply for a marriage license:
When You Can Apply for a Marriage License
You may apply for a marriage license between 8:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at the Small Claims Office.
If you want to be married by a judge, services are held between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. You must provide 2 witnesses 18 years of age or older.
What You Need to Apply for a Marriage License
Proof of Age and Identity: Both parties must bring an acceptable form of identification when applying for a marriage license. These include state-issued driver's license, certified copy of birth certificate (with raised seal), current passport, conceal carry license, or other similar forms of identification which have been issued by the State of Oklahoma or the United States Federal Government.
Foreign Identification: If you are applying for a marriage license with a driver's license, identification card or passport from outside the United States, you must also provide a birth certificate translated into English. A translated birth certificate may be obtained from Language International Group, LLC at 509 SW 25th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73109; their phone number is 405-632-7877.
Statutory Fees: The marriage license will cost $50, payable to the Court Clerk's Office. If you are being married by a judge, there is an additional $10 fee. Acceptable forms of payment include: cash, money order, cashier's check, credit card or debit card (no personal checks). All license fees are due at the time of filing. The marriage license fee may be reduced to $5 if the applicants have successfully completed premarital counseling. A certificate must be presented at the time of application, it must be the original document, and it must include both party's names stating they have successfully completed the premarital counseling requirements. The premarital counseling program must be conducted in accordance with Oklahoma Statute 43 O.S. 5.1.
Residency Requirements: There are no residency requirements. The marriage must be performed in Oklahoma.
Waiting Period: There is no waiting period, except for applicants 16 or 17 years of age. Refer to Title 43 Marriage and Family for more information.
Blood Test: No blood test is required.
Divorced Applicants: If you have been divorced in the State of Oklahoma, you may not remarry anyone* in this state for 6 months from the date of the divorce decree. *You may remarry your previous spouse at any time after the date of divorce.
Applicants Between the Age of 16 and 17: Consent of a parent or legal guardian may be required. Refer to Title 43 Marriage and Family for more information.
Important Date Information: The marriage license is only valid for 10 days, beginning the day issued, and must be returned to the Small Claims Office within 30 days from the performance of marriage.
If you have any questions, you may contact the Small Claims Office at 580-250-5093.